Sonar preview 3: Fever Ray (vs Sugar Ray)


Sonar 2009 - 18.19.20 June, Barcelona

Sonar 2009 - 18.19.20 June, Barcelona

“When I grow up” that’s how Fever Ray‘s song starts. Fever Ray is The Knife‘s female voice Karin Dreijer Andersson on a solo trip. She one of Sweden’s export products I’m proud to have in my cd collection. I’ve been a fan of The Knife, so no wonder this solo project gets a little attention too. The music is beautiful. Not a banger, agreed.

On the other hand, the video below gives me the creeps. Am I the only one seeing “The Ring” all over again while watching Fever Ray’s video? See for yourself.

To compensate on the visual freakshow above, let’s put something from my childhood below. So “When I grew up”…I was impressed by the fine cover of Sugar Ray, a US rockband named after a legendary boxer, lyrics about Mike Tyson, and with Nicole Eggert (a Baywatch…euh…actress) posing on the album cover. I remember getting a big lolly for free when I bought the album in ’95.

That album must have been long forgotten. So here it is, the complete album:
Sugar Ray – Lemonade & Brownies album from 1995
(mediafire)
This one comes from a time Sugar Ray still had balls and we were all running around in baggy pants feeling cool and shit. And you are right, this has nothing to do with Fever Ray performing at Sonar.

Caboose – Sugar Ray

~ by Dirty Disco Ninja on June 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
